State Polls 2012: Manipur goes to poll today

Elections has begun in 60 assembly constituencies across 2,357 polling stations in nine districts of Manipur amid tight security. An electorate of 17,40,576, including 8,82,236 woman voters, are eligible to exercise their franchise to choose their representatives from among 279 candidates in the 10th Assembly polls.


Incumbent Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh, who is contesting for a third term, cast his vote at a polling station in Khangabok of Thoubal district.


Around 350 companies of security personnel including 270 central para military forces were deployed besides the state armed police.


The Election Commission will closely watch the polling in Ukhrul, Senapati and Tamenglong districts of Manipur as the state votes for a new assembly on Saturday. All the three districts have a significant population of Nagas and are under the influence of Naga insurgent group NSCN (I-M).


Security inputs suggest that the NSCN(I-M) may try to intimidate voters that are not perceived as supporters of their favoured candidates.

website statistics