Six-phase Bihar election begins on October 21

Bihar will go to polls in six phases spread over a month from October 21, the Election Commission announced on Monday.


The first phase on October 21 will have polling for 47 seats while the second phase will be held on October 24 in 45 seats. The third phase will be on October 28 for 48 seats, fourth on November one (42), fifth on November nine (35) and last on November 20 (26 seats), Chief Election Commissioner S Y Quraishi told in a press conference. Counting for the 243 seats Assembly seats will be held on November 24.


Polling will be held in 56,943 polling stations spread across the state in which over 5.50 crore electorate are expected to exercise their franchise.


The bypolls for Banka Lok Sabha seat, which became vacant following the death of sitting MP Gidvijay Singh, will be held on November one.


The term of the 243-member Assembly will end on November 27. This will be the first election after Quraishi took over as the Chief Election Commissioner on July 30.

website statistics