RS polls: Jethmalani, Mallya, Paswan win

Congress leaders Oscar Fernandes and Anand Sharma, M. Venkaiah Naidu and Ram Jethmalani of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief Ramvilas Paswan and independent candidate Vijay Mallya were among the 18 candidates elected to the Rajya Sabha in the biennial polls Thursday.


In the keenly watched election in Rajasthan, where five candidates were in the fray for four seats, both the Congress and the BJP won two seats each. Congress candidates Union Commerce Minister Anand Sharma and A.A. Tak won, while BJP candidates Jethmalini and V.P Singh also got elected.


Mallya, supported by Deve Gowda's JD(S), could muster enough votes to pip fellow industrialist T V Murthy.


RJD chief Lalu Yadav finally tasted success just before the Assembly polls in Bihar with three BSP MLAs cross voting for his candidates. Lalu ensured victory for his ally Ram Vilas Paswan and Ram Kripal Yadav.


Janata Dal (U)'s two nominees also sailed through as BJP spokesperson Rajiv Prasad Rudy won from the state as the sole candidate of the party.

Of the three industrialists in fray in Jharkhand, the ones backed by the Congress and the JMM managed to win. Congress' Dheeraj Sahu and JMM-supported K D Singh mustered enough votes to beat BJP's Ajay Maroo.


In Orissa amid high drama all three seats went to the ruling Biju Janata Dal. Despite the Congress and the BJP joining hands to get industrialist and independent candidate Tara Patnaik elected, three legislators -- two from the Congress and one from the BJP - did not turn not up for voting. Accusations were flying high that the BJD was pressuring MLAs to cross vote in its favour.

website statistics