Notification for the fourth phase of UP Assembly elections issued

Notification for the fourth phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections was issued on Wednesday, setting in motion the process of filing nominations.

The fourth phase would test the fate of several heavyweights including three ministers, 32 sitting MLAs, 12 former ministers, BJP national vice-president Kalraj Mishra and Congress state president Rita Bahuguna Joshi.

Polling for the fourth phase of elections covering 56 seats spread over Hardoi, Unnao, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Farukkhabad, Kannauj, Banda, Chitrakoot, Pratapgarh and Fatehpur districts would be held on February 19.

"More than 1.72 crore voters are expected to cast their votes at 18209 polling booths at 12821 polling stations where 19029 electronic voting machines would be used," according to the Election Commission.

website statistics