Mamata wins in Bengal, TN goes to Jaya; Assam, Kerala to Cong

Mamata Banerjee terminated the Left Front's 34-year stranglehold on West Bengal, while Jayalalithaa wrested power with a landslide victory over DMK in the assembly elections whose results were out on Friday.

Congress added to Left's discomfiture by snatching power in Kerala by a slender margin while it scored a spectacular hattrick in Assam bagging a near two-third majority to retain power.

The Banerjee-led alliance was set to capture over two-thirds majority by winning over 225 seats in the 294 seat assembly. Banerjee, railway minister at the Centre, did not contest the elections.

Trinamool Congress has won 224 seats and was leading in 1 seat, while Congress bagged 42.

On the rival side, the CPI(M), which headed the Left Front, has won 63 seats.

Tamil Nadu lived up to its 'winner takes all' reputation as Jayalalithaa swept back to power with a landslide victory with her alliance set to cross the 200 mark in the 234-member assembly.

AIADMK on its own is set to get 151 seats, The party has won 198 seat and was leading in another 6 seats. The DMK and allies won 28 seats and was ahead in 2.

website statistics