Karnataka election results: Congress wins

Congress party has won Karnataka assembly elections. The Party returned to power in Karnataka after seven years, defeating the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by a huge margin.


Congress is now set to form the government on its own in Karnataka. The final tally of votes stood at Congress winning 121 seats, BJP and JDS winning 40 seats each and KJP winning 6 seats. Other parties and Independents won 16 seats.


Karnataka Result Status
Status Known For 223 out of 224 Constituencies

Party Won Leading Total
Bharatiya Janata Party 38 2 40
Indian National Congress 119 2 121
Janata Dal (Secular) 40 0 40
Samajwadi Party 1 0 1
Others 19 2 21
Last Updated at 6:20 PM On 8/5/2013

website statistics