HP Assembly polls: 75 percent turnout

Himachal Pradesh on Sunday registered a high polling of around 75 per cent in elections for 68 assembly constituencies. It is higher than the figure of 2007 polls.


A record number of 459 candidates, including 36 women, were in the fray. The Election Commission set up 7,253 polling stations for 4,608,359 electors, including 2,376,587 men. The main contest was between the Congress and the ruling BJP.


Congress leader and five-time chief minister Virbhadra Singh cast his vote at his native place in Rampur town, around 120 km from Shimla, while Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal exercised his franchise in Samirpur, now part of Bhoranj constituency. Virbhadra Singh is contesting the elections from Shimla (rural) and Dhumal from Hamirpur constituency.


The election result would be out Dec 20. In 2007, the BJP won 41 seats, the Congress 23, the BSP one and Independents three. The lone BSP legislator later joined the BJP.

website statistics