First woman Speaker of India - Meira Kumar

Congress candidate Meira Kumar was elected Speaker of the 15 th Lok Sabha unanimously on Wednesday.  


As soon as the Lok Sabha session began, Sonia, according to the agenda, proposed Kumar as the Speaker of the new House. Her name was seconded by Leader of Opposition L K Advani and other political leaders. Both Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Advani then accompanied her to the Speaker's chair completing the formality. 


With every side deciding to endorse her candidature, her election to the top post was a unanimous affair. 


Altogether 13 sets of nominations were submitted on Tuesday by Leader of the House Pranab Mukherjee to Lok Sabha secretary general P D T Achary. Among those who backed her bid for the constitutional post were UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Leader of Opposition L K Advani, NCP chief Sharad Pawar and SP leader Mulayam Singh Yadav. 


Mukherjee led a group of UPA leaders to the secretary general's office in a formal show of solidarity behind Kumar. Among them were Pawar, Farooq Abdullah, Lalu Prasad and E Ahmed. 


While Sonia's proposal was seconded by Mukherjee, that of Advani was done by his party colleague Sushma Swaraj. 

website statistics