Election for new President to be held on July 19

The President's election will be held on July 19 and the counting of votes will take place on July 21. The term of office of current President Pratibha Patil ends on 24th July, 2012.


According to Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath, Election to President Office of India must be free and fair and the commission is taking all necessary steps in discharging its constitutional responsibility.


Election Commission of India has fixed the following schedule for the election to fill the office of the President of India:

  • Issue of Election Commission’s notification calling the election: 16.06.2012 (Saturday)
  • Last date for making nominations: 30.06.2012 (Saturday)
  • Date for the scrutiny of nominations: 02.07.2012 (Monday)
  • Last date for the withdrawal of candidatures: 04.07.2012 (Wednesday)
  • Date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken: 19.07.2012 (Thursday)
  • Date on which counting, if required, shall be taken: 22.07.2012 (Sunday)

website statistics