Counting of votes for 543 Lok Sabha seats set to begin

Counting of votes for all the 543 Lok Sabha constituencies will begin at 0800 hrs IST on Saturday simultaneously all over the country to decide the fate of 8,070 contestants, including 556 women.


Counting will also start for Andhra Pradesh, Orissa and Sikkim Assembly elections and for by-elections in some states at the same time and early trends are expected in about an hour at around 0900 hrs IST.


There are a total of 1,080 counting centres spread across 28 states and seven union territories with 4,260 counting halls.


The Election Commission has deployed approximately 60,000 counting staff and has also asked the state election officials to compile the number of voters who exercised their 'right to not to vote' during the five-phase long Lok Sabha elections.

website statistics