BJP Names Narendra Modi as Prime Ministerial Candidate

BJP has named Gujarat Chief Minister and party's election campaign committee chief Narendra Modi as the party's prime ministerial candidate for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Brushing aside Advani's strong opposition, BJP President Rajnath Singh went ahead and named Modi as the PM candidate for the next Lok Sabha elections.


The decision to name Modi was taken at the BJP Parliamentary Board meeting in New Delhi on Friday. Apart from Rajnath Singh the other leaders who attended the meet were Murli Manohar Joshi, M Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Narendra Modi, Ananth Kumar, Thawarchand Gehlot and Ramlal. Former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, who is unwell, and a Advani did not attend the meeting.

website statistics