SAD-BJP stake claim to form govt, oath on Mar 14

The SAD-BJP alliance has staked claim to form the government in Punjab with Governor Shivraj Patil inviting the two parties for swearing in on March 14.

Manohar Parrikar takes oath as Goa Chief Minister

Manohar Parrikar, who spearheaded BJP's emphatic win in assembly polls with majority of its own for the first time, today took oath as Chief Minister of Goa at the head of a 6-member coalition government.

Election results: Mulayam dethrones Mayawati in Uttar Pradesh

Mulayam Singh Yadav's Samajwadi Party swept to power jolting Congress party and the BJP in UP assembly polls, the results of which are a setback to Rahul Gandhi, who acknowledged the "defeat".

Election results: Akalis win in Punjab

Akalis, along with the BJP, stormed their way back to power in Punjab on Tuesday, sweeping away in its wake the Congress and it's battle-weary Captain, a long history of anti-incumbency and a strong rebellion right among its own.

Election results: Congress to form govt in Uttarakhand

Congress tonight appeared on course to form government in Uttarakhand after it took a wafer-thin one seat advantage over ruling BJP in a cliff-hanger of a contest in state assembly polls.

Election result: BJP gets majority in Goa

Riding high on a double wave of anti-incumbency and support from the minorities, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) created history on Tuesday by coming to power on its own in Goa with 21 seats dealing a crushing blow to the Congress who were reduced to just nine seats in the 40-member state legislative assembly.

Election result: Congress wins third time in Manipur

Chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh has led the Congress to a third term victory in Manipur completely neutralizing the opposition's threat. The state assembly has 60 seats.

UP: SP set to reach majority

The Samajwadi Party has crossed the half-way mark in the 2012 Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections and looks all set to form the next government in the state. While the party has already won 75 seats, it is leading in 145 other seats, taking the total number to 220 as per the tally at around 3.45 pm.

UP polls: 62% in 7th turnout phase

Voting in the seven-phased Assembly elections in the politically sensitive state of Uttar Pradesh was at all time high recording an overall turnout of around 60% with the last phase today registering 62% polling.

60 per cent turnout in 6th phase of UP poll

The high stakes battle for power in Uttar Pradesh entered the last lap on Tuesday with 60 per cent peaceful voting in the sixth and penultimate round of the assembly elections that end next week.

UP polls: 59.4 pc turnout recorded in 5th phase

The fifth round of polling in Uttar Pradesh's seven-phased assembly elections in 49 constituencies on Thursday witnessed a 59.4 per cent turnout, an official said.

UP 4th phase polling records 57 per cent turnout

An estimated 57 per cent votes were polled in the fourth phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections which covered Rae Bareli and Amethi, bastions of Nehru-Gandhi family, and part of backward Bundelkhand region, for whose development Rahul Gandhi has made a strong case.

57 per cent turnout in third phase of UP Polls

An estimated 57 per cent of voters exercised their franchise in the third phase of polling in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly election on Wednesday.

UP polls: Over 59 percent turnout in second phase

Lucknow: Nearly 59 percent of 1.92 crore voters today exercised their franchise for 59 seats spread over nine districts in the by-and-large peaceful second phase of the fiercely-fought Uttar Pradesh assembly election.

UP polls: Voting in second phase begins

The second round of the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections, whose outcome is bound to affect national politics, is taking place on Saturday, involving 1.97 crore voters in 59 constituencies.

Syndicate content

website statistics