Chhattisgarh: 74% turnout in final phase of assembly polling

In the second and final phase of elections for the 90-member Chhattisgarh assembly, More than 10 million votes were cast on Tuesday .


Voting was held on Tuesday in the second and final phase for 72 constituencies. The first phase November 11 saw voting for 18 seats.


Assembly Elections To be Held in 5 States

Election Commission of India has announced that Assembly elections will be held in five states in a phased manner. These states are Delhi, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Mizoram.


Delhi and Mizoram assembly elections will be held on December 4 whereas Rajasthan assembly elections will be held on December 1.


BJP Names Narendra Modi as Prime Ministerial Candidate

BJP has named Gujarat Chief Minister and party's election campaign committee chief Narendra Modi as the party's prime ministerial candidate for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Brushing aside Advani's strong opposition, BJP President Rajnath Singh went ahead and named Modi as the PM candidate for the next Lok Sabha elections.


Karnataka election results: Congress wins

Congress party has won Karnataka assembly elections. The Party returned to power in Karnataka after seven years, defeating the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by a huge margin.


Congress is now set to form the government on its own in Karnataka. The final tally of votes stood at Congress winning 121 seats, BJP and JDS winning 40 seats each and KJP winning 6 seats. Other parties and Independents won 16 seats.


Karnataka Assembly Elections: State sees high voter turnout


Karnataka Assembly polling was has ended and the turnout was 60.58 per cent till 5 pm. Polling is being held for 223 of the state assembly's 224 elected seats.


In all, 52,034 polling booths have been set up across the 223 assembly segments, with 10,103 of them declared hyper-sensitive and 14,209 as sensitive.


Left wins Tripura, NPF gets Nagaland, Congress Meghalaya

2013 Assembly elections result in the three northeast states of Tripura, Nagaland and Meghalaya has been announced. In Tripura, the CPI(M) registered its fifth consecutive victory with wins in 49 seats. In Nagaland, the Naga Peoples Front retained power with wins in 37 seats. In Meghalaya, the Congress emerged as the single largest party with wins in 29 seats, but fell short of majority by two seats.


Assembly Elections: Meghalaya, Nagaland Vote

Meghalaya Assembly polling was peaceful today and the turnout was over 72 per cent at 3pm, according to election officials. Nagaland too witnessed brisk voting with over half of its electorate voting by early afternoon to pick a 60-member assembly.

Tripura elections: Poll turnout recorded at 40 per cent till noon

Total poll turnout in Tripura till noon was recorded as 40 per cent. An electorate of 23,52,505, including 11,64,656 women, are exercising their franchise in the election being contested by 249 candidates belonging to 16 political parties besides independents.

Gujarat: Narendra Modi Sworn in as Chief Minister

Narendra Modi took oath as Gujarat's chief minister on Wednesday after sweeping win in Assembly elections. This will be Modi's third consecutive term as the Gujarat chief minister.

Himachal Pradesh: Virbhadra Singh Takes Oath as Chief Minister

Congress leader Virbhadra Singh was sworn in as Himachal Pradesh's Chief Minister for a sixth term in Shimla on Tuesday. Governor Urmila Singh administered the oath of office to the septuagenarian, who has been chief minister for more than 16 years, in Shimla.


BJP wins in Gujarat, Congress in Himachal

Results of Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh assembly polls are out. BJP wins in Gujarat while Congress in Himachal Pradesh.

Summary results are as below

HP Assembly polls: 75 percent turnout

Himachal Pradesh on Sunday registered a high polling of around 75 per cent in elections for 68 assembly constituencies. It is higher than the figure of 2007 polls.

Gujarat Assembly Polls: 70 percent turnout in last phase

The voter turnout in the second and final phase of Gujarat assembly elections on Monday was 70 per cent. The turnout has been the same as that in the first phase of polling in the state on December 13.

Gujarat Elections: Phase one voting ends

The voting in the first phase of the Gujarat Assembly elections began at 8 am today has ended now. The voting is being done for 87 seats in 15 districts in Saurashtra and South Gujarat.

Himachal Pradesh Polls: 75% Voter Turnout

Himachal Pradesh registered a record high voter turnout of 75 percent in the state assembly polls Sunday. However polling in this state capital Shimla was less than 60 percent.


According to poll officials, the lowest voter turnout in the assembly elections Sunday was 58.77 percent recorded in Shimla (urban) constituency, whereas the highest percentage was 94.80 percent in Nalagarh in Solan district.


Syndicate content

website statistics