Loksabha Elections: High polling turnout in seven states

High polling turnout was recorder in the seventh phase of Lok Sabha elections. Highest voting of 81.35 per cent was recorded in nine seats in West Bengal whereas Punjab recorded a turnout of 73 per cent.  Gujarat had a 62 per cent turnout where 59.06 per cent polling was recorded in 14 Lok Sabha seats


70 per cent of the voters went to polls in Telangana to elect its 119 representatives to the proposed state’s first assembly and 17 representatives to Lok Sabha.

56% Voting in Maharashtra, 82% in West Bengal

Polling took place in 117 Lok Sabha seats across 11 states and one Union Territory today in the phase 6 of 2014 General Elections. West Bengal registered 82 per cent polling for 6 Lok Sabha seats where as Uttar Pradesh 58.58 per cent for 12 seats. An average 56.26 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the 19 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra, where polling was held today in the third and final phase.


Lok Sabha Elections: 79% Record Turnout in West Bengal

Indians today voted for 121 Lok Sabha seats in 12 states, including Karnataka, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar. Polling has been already completed in 111 seats.


Lok Sabha Polls: 75 percent turnout in Assam, 82 percent in Tripura

Polling for Seven Lok Sabha seats across four states in the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections took place on Saturday. Two seats of Goa, three of Assam and one each of Tripura and Sikkim went to polls where fate of 74 candidates has been sealed in voting machines now.


In Goa's North and South seats, the voter turnout was 75 percent.


High Turnout in Third Phase of LS Polls

In Third phase of LS polls, high voter turnout was recorded in the 91 constituencies in 14 states and Union Territories. Chandigarh topped with 74 per cent.


In the 10 LS seats of Uttar Pradesh, a record turnout of 65 per cent is reported as compared to 51.30 per cent recorded in the last LS polls. The election turnout in Delhi was 64 per cent, up by 12 per cent as against 2009 elections. In Kerala, turnout was 73.4 per cent compared to 73.2 per cent last time.

Lok Sabha Election: High Turnout in Second Phase

Polling for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections was held in six constituencies across four North East states today. Elections were held in Nagaland, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh and Meghalaya.


There was high turnout in most states 70 per cent in Manipur, 64 per cent in Meghalaya, 82.5 per cent in Nagaland and 71 per cent in Arunachal Pradesh.


In Arunachal Pradesh Assembly polls were held simultaneously.

Lok Sabha Election Begins: First of nine-phase polling

India's national election kick started on Monday as people in five Lok Sabha seats in Assam and one in Tripura cast their votes.


The two northeastern states recorded a huge turnout of 72.5 per cent and 84 per cent respectively. The Election Commission said the polling percentage in Assam is set to cross 75.


Indian National Congress - 2014 LS Election Candidates

Bharatiya Janata Party - 2014 LS Election Candidates

6th list



Aam Aadmi Party - 2014 LS Election Candidates

10th list

Election Commission Announces Lok Sabha Polls dates

The Election Commission of India has aanounced a nine-phase election to the Lok Sabha and state assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim between April 7 and May 12. Polling will be stretched over nine rounds lasting 34 days, as against five phases spread over 28 days in 2009.


The term of the current Lok Sabha expires on May 31.


Lokpal Bill passed by Parliament

Indian Parliament has passed the Lokpal law by which an anti-corruption watchdog would be established that will have in its purview even the office of the Prime Minister.



The Lokpal and Lokayukta Bill, 2013, was passed by voice vote in Lok Sabha on Wednesday. The bill was already passed by the Lok Sabha in December 2011 but it came to the house again as it underwent amendments before being approved by the Rajya Sabha on Tuesday.

Congress Wins Mizoram Assembly Elections with Absolute Majority

After bad show in four states, Congress won an absolute majority in the Mizoram Assembly elections with 32 out of 39 seats. Opposition MNF secured five and MPC one.


The Congress had won 32 seats in the 2008 Assembly elections in the the state.


Assembly Election Results: BJP Wins Rajasthan, MP and Chhattisgarh

BJP has retained MP, Chhattisgarh and won Rajasthan from Congress. The Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) good show in Delhi pushed the Congress to a third spot, with the BJP being the leading party.


The current results are below

Delhi Assembly Elections: Record Voter Turnout

Delhi has witnessed a record voter turnout of 66 per cent even though voting likely to continue in some places till 6:30 pm.


The earlier highest was in 1993 when 65.75 per cent voters exercised their votes.


In 2008 assembly polls, the overall voting percentage was 57.58 per cent.


Syndicate content

website statistics