First woman Speaker of India - Meira Kumar

Congress candidate Meira Kumar was elected Speaker of the 15 th Lok Sabha unanimously on Wednesday.  

Meira Kumar consensus candidate for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker.

Five-term Lok Sabha MP Meira Kumar on Tuesday became the consensus candidate of the ruling UPA and the opposition BJP for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker.

First session of 15th Lok Sabha begins

Pranab Mukherjee and L K Advani led the newly-elected members of the 15th Lok Sabha in taking oath of affirmation with seniormost member of the House Manikrao Gavit presiding over the session as Protem Speaker. 

Cabinet finalises President's speech to Parliament

The President's address to the joint session of Parliament next week was finalised in New Delhi on Saturday at the first meeting of the Cabinet after it was expanded Thursday. Prime Minister Manmohan Singh chaired the meeting.

Portfolios Announced

Kapil Sibal has been given the all-important Human Resource Development Ministry in the new UPA government, the portfolios to which were announced on Thursday night.

New ministers take oath

President Pratibha Patil on Thursday administered the oath of office to 14 Cabinet ministers, 7 ministers of state with independent charge, and 38 MoS in an elaborate ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. 

PM set to lead 78-member Cabinet

Former chief ministers Vilasrao Deshmukh, Vir Bhadra Singh and Farooq Abdullah were among the 14 politicians who were named as Cabinet ministers in the second list released on Wednesday.

Maran, Azhagiri and Raja to join Cabinet

After holding out for two days, DMK chief M Karunanidhi appeared to have raised the white flag, accepting Congress's offer of three Cabinet berths while drastically pruning his wishlist of ministries for three family members and key infrastructure portfolios in the new Manmohan Singh ministry.

Six portfolios announced

S M Krishna was on Saturday appointed the new External Affairs Minister with Prime Minister Manmohan Singh deciding to give the key portfolio of Finance to Pranab Mukherjee while retaining P Chidambaram as Home Minister.  

PM, 19 Cabinet ministers take oath today

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh along with a 19-member team will be administered oath of office and secrecy by President Pratibha Patil 

YSR takes oath as Andhra CM

Y S Rajasekhara Reddy of the Congress on Wednesday evening took oath as the Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister for the second consecutive term.

President invites Manmohan Singh to be PM

President Pratibha Patil on Wednesday invited Manmohan Singh to be the next Prime Minister of India and asked him to advise her on the council of ministers.

BSP to support new UPA Govt

On Tuesday BSP Supremo and UP Chief Minister Mayawati's BSP said the party's national executive and parliamentary board which met this morning took the decision on giving unconditional support to the government from outside. 

CWC met to form new Govt

The Congress core group had a meeting on Sunday for the discussion of the political situations and issues related to the formation of the new Govt followed by the performance of the UPA (United Progressive Alliance) in the Lok Sabha elections.

Manmohan to be PM : Congress

Congress made it clear that Manmohan Singh will lead a government led by the party as promised during the campaign, scotching speculation on its prime ministerial candidate. 


Congress claimed victory on Saturday as its United Progressive Alliance (UPA) inched towards near majority in the 545-seat Lok Sabha, dealing blows to a divided Opposition.

Syndicate content

website statistics